Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Welcome to

Bracken County Historical Society


Hello!  Welcome to our website.  We hope to provide you with useful information about our society as well as our county.  Located on the banks of the Ohio River, Bracken County was formed in 1796 from parts of Mason County and Campbell County. The county seat is Brooksville.

The Bracken County Historical Society meets every fourth Tuesday at 7:00 p.m. in the meeting room of the Bracken County Public Library in Brooksville, Kentucky. Watch newspapers each month for any change in meeting location. Membership dues are $12.00 per year with dues being payable January 1. With your membership you will receive copies of the quarterly newsletter. We also offer Life Membership for a one time fee of $100.00.  Currently we have 61 life members.
Dues  for yearly and Life membership can be sent to : 

Bracken County Historical Society 
P.O. Box 307 
Brooksville, Kentucky 41004 
(606) 735-3337

Office hours are:

Friday 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.


Old Jail Building on the Courthouse Square in Brooksville, KY


John Parker -President 
John White -Vice President 
Betty Moneyhon -Recording Secretary 
Mary Jane Lucas -Corresponding Secretary 
Pat Lenox -Treasurer  
Caroline Miller and Roberta Shepard -Members at Large



Tabitha Column & Filing - Mary Jane Lucas & Betty Moneyhon
Genealogical Research - John Lenox & Office Volunteers
Newsletter & Membership - Bobbi Apking, Exec. Committee & Volunteers
Nominating - Mary Jane Lucas (Ch.), Roberta Shepherd, & Betty Moneyhon
Living History Awards - Caroline miller (Ch.), Alex Hyrcza, Judith Foster & Jackie Heaverin
Office Volunteers & Office - Pat Lenox
Librarian - Phyllis Lenox
Programs - Executive Committee 
Society Historian - Louise Sexton
Third Floor Archives Rooms - Phyllis Lenox
Registered Agent - Donnie Lucas
Grants & Publishing - Caroline Miller
History Day Liaison - Mary Jane Lucas


This site created and maintained by Ann Applegate