Site hosted by Build your free website today!


Archaebacteria is the first kingdom of life. Archaebacteria are organized into three phylums. They are found mainly found in extreme habitats where little else can survive. All Archaebacteria that are known are anerobic and obtain their energy from light.
Methanogens: This type of bacteria produces methane. Many such species live in the intestines of animals. They provide essentail nutrients and help breakdown the food in the intestines. The bacteria get a source of energy in return. This is an example of a symbolic relationship. A symbolic relationship is when two organisms work together to survive.
Halophiles: This type of bacteria can only live in bodies of concentrated salt water. An example is the Great Salt Lake in Utah and the Dead Sea in the Middle East.
Thermoacidophiles: Thermoacidophiles is the third phylum. It includes bacteria that is found in hot, acidic waters of sulfur springs. These species can handle temperatures near 80 degrees Celcius and pH levels as low as 2.

Methanococcus jannaschii

An example of Archaebacteria is Methanococcus jannaschii. The Genus name is Methanococcus jannaschii and the species name is jannaschii. This bacteria was originally isolated from a sediment sample collected from the sea floor surface at the base of a 2600-m-deep "white smoker" chimney located on the East Pacific rise. It grows at pressures of up to more than 200 atmospheres and at an optimum temperature of 85 degrees C. Methanococcus is a strict anaerobe and, as the name implies, it produces methane. It represents the first complete genome of an autotrophic organism. It is capable of nitrogen fixation. The genome of Methanococcus jannaschii consists of the main circular chromosome, and two circular extrachromosomal elements, one large and one small. Habitat: Deep oceanic thermal vents

More information on Archaebacteria
More information on Methanococcus jannaschii
More information on Methanococcus jannaschii
Home Page