Site hosted by Build your free website today!





Bloom’s Taxonomy  





  According to Bloom, there are six levels in the cognitive domain. These are knowledge, comprehension, application, analysis, synthesis, and evaluation, in order from simplest to the most in-depth. Synthesis and Evaluation are the top-most levels, and for this task, may be combined as one category. A brief definition of each level is below:


v    Knowledge: rote memory, recall/regurgitation of facts, definitions, etc.


v    Comprehension: putting knowledge into your own words; identifying/recognizing/basic understanding


v    Application: apply what’s been learned to new situations; problem solve


v    Analysis: break down, examine, find evidence


v    Synthesis: apply prior knowledge to produce something new; predict; draw conclusions


v    Evaluation: make judgments




For examples of terms, question stems, etc., click any link below:

UT Learning Center

The Learning Web - Washington



Click here to return to the Tutorial page

Click here to return to review your Rubrics