Site hosted by Build your free website today!
Results & Fixtures Players Goalscorers Match Reports Corby's History Manager's Page
League Table News Youth Pictures Reserves Steelmen Forum
Directions Links Club info E-Mail Me Homepage Programmes

VS Rugby Info and History

Chairman: Brian Melvin
Commercial Manager: John Hillier
Secretary: Doug Wilkins,
298 Rocky Lane, Great Barr,
Birmingham B42 1NQ
Tel: 0121 681 1544 (H & Fax)
Press Officer: Alun Turner
Tel: 01788 567181
Manager: Martin Sockett
Asst Manager: Martin Smith
Physio: Bob Gardner

Formed: 1956    Nickname: The Valley
Sponsors: Rugby Telegraph & Jaymann Finance
Colours: Navy & sky/navy/sky
Change colours: All White
Midweek matchday: Wednesday
Club Newsline: 0891 10 19 99
Reserves' League: No reserve team
98-99 - Top scorer: Ashley Warner
P. o Y. & Captain: Kieran Sullivan

Butlin Road, Rugby, Warks CV21 3ST    Tel: 01788 543692
Capacity: 6,000    Cover: 1,000    Seats: 240    Floodlights: Yes
Clubhouse: Open every night and weekend lunchtimes. Entertainment Saturday nights. Excellent facilities include Long Alley Skittles, darts and pool
Club Shop: Yes

Name: Valley Sports, Valley Sports Rugby
Leagues: Rugby & District 1956-63, Coventry & Partnership, North Warks 63-69, United Counties 69-75, West Midlands 75-83

Club Records
Attendance: 3,961 v Northampton FA Cup 1984
Win: 10-0 v Ilkeston Tn FA Trophy 4/9/85    Defeat: 1-11 v Ilkeston Town (A) 18.4.98
Career Goalscorer: Danny Conway, 124    Career Appearances: Danny Conway, 374
Transfer fee paid: £3,500 R Smith, I Crawley, G Bradder    Transfer fee recieved: £15,000 T Angus (Northampton)

Best Season
FA Cup: 2nd round 87-88, plus 1st Rd 84-85 85-86 86-87 94-95 League clubs defeated: None
FA Trophy:    FA Vase: Winners 82-83

Southern Lg Midland Div 86-87 (R-up 94-95, Lg Cup 89-90), FA Vase 82-83, Mid Floodlight Cup 84-85 89-90 98 (R-up 86-87), Birmingham Snr Cup 88-89 91-92, Utd Co's Lg Div 3 Cup 69-70.
All-time record FA Trophy win: 10-0 away to Ilkeston Town, Preliminary Rd 85-86

Players progressing
S Storer (Birmingham 1985), S Bicknell (Leicester), S Norris (Scarborough), T Angus (Northampton Town), Ashley Walker (Peterborough), Ian King (Stoke City)