Dear ACA Members,  Our club is a member of the IDA and may participate in the


2013 IDA Board of Directors Election

The 2013 IDA Board of Directors Election has begun. The voting period will end on October 15. This year there are five candidates on the slate with four director positions to fill. Included in your email is information for each candidate. Additional information on each candidate is posted at:
The results of the election will be announced at the AGM and posted on the IDA website on November 10, 2012.
Please see the 2013 IDA Board Candidate Bios below.

James R. Benya — Current Board Member
James R. Benya (PE, FIES, FIALD, LC) is principal of Benya Lighting Design with offices in West Linn (greater Portland), Oregon. An internationally recognized lighting designer, educator, and writer, Jim has won more than 250 lighting design awards worldwide for his residential and commercial projects. He is a fellow of the International Association of Lighting Designers, a fellow of the Illuminating Engineering Society of North America, a registered professional engineer, a member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, and is Lighting Certified by the National Council on Qualifications for the Lighting Professions. Jim currently serves as chairman of the Board of Fellows and member of the Technical Review Council of IESNA. He chaired the IDA/IESNA Joint Task Force for a Model Lighting Ordinance. Jim holds a BSE in electrical engineering and a BS (CCS) from the University of Michigan.
Christopher Kyba — New Candidate
Christopher Kyba is a light pollution researcher working in Berlin, Germany, and currently the chair of IDA’s Night Sky Brightness Monitoring Committee. Mr. Kyba has published numerous light pollution related research on the ecological impact of artificial light, skyglow and night sky brightness monitoring. Through his position on the board, he would aim to further extend IDA’s commitment to monitoring skyglow, particularly through increased engagement of citizen scientists and backyard astronomers. Christopher would also provide the board with expert opinions regarding questions of skyglow quantification, as well as updates on the most current research. Serving on the board would give him the opportunity to represent IDA at scientific conferences, and in discussions with other researchers.

Christian K. Monrad — Current Board Member


Mr. Monrad has decades of experience with and is an expert in the application of outdoor lighting systems in environmentally and astronomically sensitive locales including shielding considerations, adaptive controls, spectral content selection, glare control, and lighting ordinance compliance activities to minimize spill light, glare, and adverse sky-glow effects. Over the last 24 years, he has provided assistance in the development of light pollution reduction ordinances throughout southern Arizona and for the state of Hawaii.

Mr. Monrad is active as a Life Member in the International Dark-Sky Association (IDA), has been on its Board of Directors for 16 years, and currently sits as Treasurer of the Board. Chris is also past-President of the Southern Arizona Section of the Illuminating Engineering Society of North America (IESNA) and two-time past-President of the IDA.


Mr. Monrad was the recipient of the 2011 GE Edison Award for Environmental Design for the LEED Platinum certified University of Arizona Likins and Arbor de la Vida Residence Halls ; 2001, 2003, and 2004 International Dark Sky Association Lighting Design Awards for Painted Sky Elementary School, Ironwood Ridge High School and the University of Arizona Highland Complex.

Dr. Mario Motta — Current Board MemberDr. Motta has been a longtime anti light pollution advocate for various reasons, not the least of which of course is his love of the night sky. He has advocated for light pollution laws going back to the 1980s, helped form the New England Light Pollution Advisory Group back in the early 90s, and has advocated for light pollution laws in many individual towns and cities throughout New England. As a past president of the Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS), Dr. Motta was able to get the MMS to adopt as policy advocacy for full cut off lights. With the American Medical Association (AMA), he has advanced the same full cut off resolution, which was adopted in 2008, and now stands as AMA policy. He then was elected to the Counsel on Science and Public Health of the AMA, which allowed him to have direct influence on policy. Over the last several years, he worked to encourage the AMA to adopt a monograph on the medical effects of light at night. The AMA adopted this unanimously in June of 2012. As an IDA board member, he was appointed chair of the committee on medical effects of light pollution, and was able to get these medical societies to adopt these groundbreaking policies, which are being quoted and referenced worldwide.
Friedel Pas — Former Board Member
Friedel Pas has been fighting light pollution since 1990. In 1993, he joined the workgroup Werkgroep Lichthinder, which founded and still runs the pioneering lights out event, the Belgian Night of Darkness, which enjoys over 62 percent participation from Belgian municipalities. In 2004, Friedel became president of Preventie Lichthinder, which facilitated collaborations with the Belgian government and currently runs the Belgian Night of Darkness. As European Liaison to IDA, Friedel has organized and promoted IDA programs throughout Europe, including the annual European Symposium. Friedel received the 2008 IDA Hoag-Robinson Award and the 2012 IDA Galileo Award.

Director (Choose up to 4)


James R. Benya, Current Board Member  (View Info)


Christopher Kyba, New Candidate  (View Info)


Christian K. Monrad, Current Board Member  (View Info)


Dr. Mario Motta, Current Board Member  (View Info)


Friedel Pas, Former Board Member  (View Info)

Please do not vote now, but be prepared to check off your choices at our meeting on Sept. 22.

We will take the majority vote.

Thank you.

Tedda Howard

ACA President