Site hosted by Build your free website today!

My Home Page

My Favorite Things About Angelfire

My Favorite Web sites

Angelfire Home Pages
Free Web Building Help
Angelfire HTML Library
htmlGEAR - free polls, guestbooks, and more!

Quidditch is by far the most popular sport in the wizarding world. There is a World Cup every year and the number of teams participating in the league is growing rapidly.

There are seven players on each team- three Chasers, a Seeker, two Beaters, and a Keeper. Each player has their own designated job, and if they don't do it properly, the team will more than likely suffer a defeat. There is usually only one referree during Hogwarts matches, but in larger games there are more.

The Chasers handle the quaffle, a large red ball with three dents in it. They throw the balls through one of three hoops guarded by a Keeper, and receive ten points for making it. These are usually the players who get hurt.

The Seeker is the only person allowed to catch The Golden Snitch, a small golden ball with wings that is very difficult to see. The catching of the Snitch is worth 150 points and ends the game immediately.

The Beaters are in charge of keeping the bludgers at bay. They carry large bats to hit the bludgers toward opposing players. They, along with the Seeker, are probably the most coordinated fliers, having to fly with one hand.

The Keep is in charge of guarding the goalposts against opposing Chasers wishing to make a goal. Keepers are often favorite targets of Beaters.