Aldwych (closed station)
With thanks to Robert Reynolds for this image.
Aldwych station opened as Strand on 30 November 1907. The Aldwych branch line between Aldwych and Holborn was a double tracked line with two platforms either end. There was only ever a restricted shuttle service for most of the lines life but there was a late night through service for theatre traffic which survived up until 1908. On the 9 May 1915 the station was renamed Aldwych. This was so to avoid confusion with the Northern line station at Charing Cross which had its name changed on the same day. The southbound tunnel and platform was officially made surplus to operational requirements on 15 August 1917. The former is now used by London Underground for testing new equipment etc. Aldwych station closed on 22 September 1940 to 30 June 1946 because Westminster City Council used it as an air raid shelter. The 1906/07 lift contained a ticket office which is a strange but unique feature. The station closed to passengers in 1994.
This is the surface building while still in use. Note that the blood red terracotta is still in good condition and the fact that the early lettering on the white tiled band is retained.
Approaching the platform at Aldwych.
This platform has been used as a back drop for many films. 'Fire-starter' was filmed in the disused tunnel, the tunnel floors are covered in red glitter! Other films such as Death Line & Take it or Leave it were also filmed here. This view is facing North towards Holborn.
This more recent view shows what the station is used for now. New equipment has been tested for the Jubilee Line Extension and the Piccadilly Line Modernisation. In this view you can see equipment being tested for the Central Line Modernisation.
Above images used with kind permission of Pendar Sillwood.
Views of the side entrance/exit from Robert Reynolds.
Now see Holborn at the other end...