Site hosted by Build your free website today!
William J. Geisheker Award Recipients
   HomeStudents > William J. Geisheker Award Recipients

     The William J. Geisheker Award is the greatest honor Symphonic Band members can bestow upon a graduating senior. This award is named in honor of former Symphonic Band Conductor William Geisheker and his many years of faithful service to the Marquette University Bands.

     Each spring, all Symphonic Band members vote for the award winner, and a plaque is presented to the recipient at the Spring Concert. As well, in Dr. Nicholas Contorno's office hangs a plaque with a list of all recipients and a quote that describes the qualities of these recipients:

"The William J. Geisheker Award is presented annually to the senior Marquette University Band member who has demonstrated these characteristics and traits which typify the ideals reflected throughout the forty-one tenure of 'Mr. G.'

"Foremost among these are loyalty, dedication, musicianship, fraternity, respect, and especially love."

Here is a listing of all students who have been honored with this award.

Year Recipient Year Recipient
1984 Jay D. Chopp 1985 Kelly A. McEniry
1986 Francis Patrick Smith 1987 Christopher P. Schulteis
1988 John C. Johnson 1989 Paul D. Oleksy
1990 Claudine Thibault 1991 Karla M. Even
1992 David D. Boyd 1993 Cindy Russell
1994 Steve Becker 1995 Theresa M. Moniott
1996 Paul F. Chouinard 1997 Philip N. Zeman
1998 Amanda J. Tuthill 1999 Brian S. Waldhart
2000 Shannon M. Duwe 2001 R. Aaron Bader


Go Back to the History Page  Students     Go To Top  Top

[Home - Upcoming Events - Students - Symphonic Band - Pep Band - Jazz Band - Alumni - Memories - History]

Link to Marquette University Home Page Marquette Band logo designed by Thomas Plant
Copyright 1998-2001 - Marquette University -- All rights reserved.
For more information contact: Marquette Band,
Questions?  Comments?  E-mail the Webmasters
Last Update: January 5, 2002