Site hosted by Build your free website today!

The Illustrious Founders of Delta Sigma Theta

Our Beloved Founders

On January 13, 1913 on the campus of Howard University twenty-two women had a vision of a sorority for African American women who would dedicate their lives to helping others. With hard work and determination these 22 scholars founded the Alpha Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority. Today, 86 years later, their vision is still seen by over 200,000 college educated women in 915 chapters.
The sorors of the Alpha Xi Chapter dedicate this page to our glorious founders, commemorating their ambition, dedication, and sisterly love.

These 22 Trailblazing Women Were:

Osceola Macarthy Adams
Marguerite Young Alexander
Winona Cargile Alexander
Ethel Cuff Black
Bertha Pitts Campbell
Zephyr Chisom Carter
Edna Brown Coleman
Jessie McGuire Dent
Fredrica Chase Dodd
Myra Davis Hemmings
Olive C. Jones
Jimmie Bugg Middleton
Pauline Oberdorfer Minor
Vashti Turley Murphy
Naomi Sewell Richardson
Mamie Reddy Rose
Eliza Pearl Shippen
Florence Letcher Toms
Ethel Carr Watson
Wertie Blackwell Weaver
Madree Penn White
Edith Motte Young
Click to Return Home