Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Personal Information

•Name: Duncan Alexander Crawford


•Date of Birth: 27th May 1979                                                    •Age: 23


•Nationality: British                                                                      •Marital Status: Single






Sep 02 - present:       Westminster University, London

                                    Post Graduate Diploma in Broadcast Journalism


1997 - 2000:              University of Reading, Reading/ Rutgers University, New Jersey

                                    2:1 BA Honours in American Studies


1995 - 1997:              Sir John Deane’s College, Northwich

 A Levels:                  History (grade B)                                                                  

                        English Literature (grade B)

                                    General Studies (grade B)

                                    ••Maths Split – Pure (grade A), Statistics (grade C)

 As Level:                  Performing Arts (grade B)

1990 – 1995:              Weaverham High School, Cheshire

                                    10 GCSE’s: Including 1 ‘A*’ Grade and 6 Grade ‘A’s


Radio Experience

•January-August 2002: Broadcast Journalist, Silk FM, Macclesfield – Researching, writing and presenting hourly local news bulletins, including the business and sport. Also writing news for website and presenting features such as Movie Minute and Holiday Hotspots. Am familiar with a variety of recording equipment, sampling and computer packages. Knowledge of Dalet and DAVE news. Have vastly improved my writing skills and ability to work speedily under pressure. Have a good radio speaking voice.


•February-April 2001: UK Top Ten, Hitz FM, Melbourne  – A weekly countdown every Thursday featured on the nightly show ‘Melbourne’s Hit List’. Helped improve my ability to concisely give information on a particular topic. Also worked in production, creating jingles and voice-overs for various shows and adverts.


•September 99-May 2000: Student Breakfast Show, J11, Reading – A weekly two-hour talk radio show on Friday mornings. I planned, scripted, organised and hosted the show with the aid of my co-host, and newsgirl. A current events entertainment programme focusing on the latest news stories and events that honed my writing and organisation skills. Competitions and live phone-ins were regular features on the show and helped develop my mixing skills and ability to work under pressure.


•October-December 1998: Breakfast Show, WRSU FM New Brunswick, New Jersey – My first weekly two hour talk radio show, every Friday morning. I went through four weeks of training before going on the air. Conducted all writing, research and production of the show, presented with my co-host. News debates, sketches, competitions, phone-ins and regular guests all part of the show.


Technical Knowledge: I have considerable experience in mixing and sound recording and have used various sampling and sequencing computer packages including Cool Edit Pro, Cubase, Wave Studio, Cake Walk Pro 4; as well as four-tracks and keyboard workstations such as the GEM S2 Turbo. I would generally consider myself very able to learn and apply new software and technology when required.



Employment Whilst Travelling Abroad


•October 2001: English Teacher, Sarasas Witaed, Bangkok – I taught maths and sciences in English to children ranging from 5 to 11. Dealing with a Thai classroom is a bit like handling an audience. It taught me patience, boosted my confidence and developed my ability to convey ideas.


•July 2001: Showroom Assistant, Phillips Auctioneers, Sydney – Helped organise, set-up and show people around the Modern and Contemporary Art and Photography exhibits. Had to quickly learn history of artists and inform potential buyers of exhibits history and cultural context. Working as part of a team to provide a high level of customer service.


•January-May 2001: Telemarketer, WorldxChange, Melbourne – Cold Calling businesses setting appointments for the telecommunications sales team. Successfully helped double average monthly revenue. Over time the role was expanded to direct sales, this involved visiting potential client organisations and developing future business. I was also made responsible for staff training. It was a highly pressurised environment that greatly developed my communication and negotiation skills.


•September-December 2000: Telemarketer, Dingo Blue, Sydney – Cold calling people all over Australia, selling phone calls, mobile phones, sim-cards and internet. Taught me how to deal with pressure, greatly improved my listening skills and enhanced my sales and marketing ability.


Employment Whilst A Student

•May-July 2000: A Call Centre Agent for Hays Personnel organising deliveries and orders.

•July-August 1999: Purchase Ledger Clerk for Onix Systems Analysis. Shipping and sales.

•July 97-August 2000: Part-time Barman for Delamere Park Bar. Cashing up and locking up.

•Sept 95-July 1999: Part-time Silver Service Waiter for Rheingold Restaurant and Contract Options.




Writing: I have written articles for Spark, Reading University’s student newspaper. I have completed one screenplay and a comedy revue. I am currently working on a number of inevitably unfinished projects (ideas scribbled on the back of scrap paper) that will probably be lost, forgotten or thrown away by accident.


Music: I am a grade 8 keyboard player, pianist and guitarist. I have played in numerous bands over the years (punk, grunge, and folk….why? why?) and also made up one half of the percussion section of Vale Royal Band where amongst other instruments I played the Triangle.


 Acting: I have had lead roles in productions such as Romeo and Juliet, Godspell and Ratz. I have also had lots of other rubbish roles (memorably starring as a leaf in a primary school production). I took part in Reading University Drama Society (RUDS) cabaret nights, and was also a member of the Altrincham Garrick Theatre.


 Watching sports: All pub sports are brilliant, although I confess I still prefer to watch. I occasionally take part in water sports, including swimming, diving and surfing, but only when it’s hot – which is never. Football is also good to watch – on the television. I like watching snooker too….and Late Night Poker (but that’s not a sport).


Travelling: Living in another culture was one of the principal reasons for my choice of degree. After graduating I travelled around a variety of places, principally working in Australia, but also seeing America, New Zealand and South East Asia. The choice of route was so original I only met a couple of hundred thousand English people along the way.


Languages: Through travelling and school, I have reasonable German, and learnt basic conversational Thai and Malay (I can swear in about ten other languages as well).


Computers: I have good general ability with Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint and the Internet. I am also really good at Street Fighter 2.