Site hosted by Build your free website today!

History of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was founded on the campus of Howard University on January 16, 1920 by five illustrious women. These five women, our Five Pearls, were trailblazers; transcending the bounds of finer womanhood. Arizona Cleaver Stemmons, Myrtle Tyler Faithful, Pearl A. Neal, Fannie P. Watts and Viola Tyler Goings were the foundation of a sisterhood that now spans the globe encompassing more than 100,000 members. Assisting our founders in establishing a well rounded, self sustaining, and innovative organization were two Brothers of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.: A. Langston Taylor and Charles R. Taylor. Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was founded on the ideals of scholarship, sisterly love, community service and finer womanhood. With these ideals under our wings, Zeta has set a tradition of "firsts". Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was the first Greek letter organization to charter a chapter in Africa, form auxiliary groups, and establish a national headquarters. Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. is the first and only Black Greek letter organization to be constitutionally bound to a fraternity, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. As an international service organization, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. has over 100,000 members in more than 650 chapters including: West Africa, West Germany, Bahamas Islands, Virgin Islands, South Korea, and Italy. Our auxiliary groups consists of the Amicae, Archonettes, Amicettes, Pearlettes, Stork's Nest Charity Fund and the Zeta Male Network.

Zeta History
Chapter History
Chapter Members
Calendar of Events