Site hosted by Build your free website today!

WAMUN 2007



Case 3

Territorial dispute over the territory west of the Essequibo River

(Venezuela vs. Guyana)


            In 1983 the Republic of Venezuela (currently the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela) and the Cooperative Republic of Guyana agreed to receive recommendations from the Secretariat of the United Nations Organization on ways of settling the territorial dispute over the territory west of the Essequibo River, claimed by Venezuela since 1840, and again in 1963.

         The Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela requests 62% of the territory that today constitutes the Cooperative Republic of Guyana. The territory claimed by Venezuela comprehends all of the territory west of the Essequibo River, consisting of six administrative regions of Guyana: Barima-Waini, Cuyuni-Mazaruni, Pomeroon-Supenaam, Potaro-Siparuni, Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo and Essequibo Islands- West Demarara. Both nations base their positions on their constitutions, claiming that their modern territories must comprehend the territory they possessed before their independence. 

 In 1970 the protocol of Port-of-Spain was signed by Guyana and Venezuela, but in 1981 Venezuela rejected the renovation of this protocol. At last in 1990 the Guyanese Defense Force and the Venezuelan army signed a protocol of peace and negotiation, and it is here where the dispute remains. The Secretariat has found itself unable to find a solution for this dispute and has decided to ask the International Court of Justice to suggest a solution. The Court expects to be presented with all treaties, documents, maps, and anything else that might prove or argue the claim by Venezuela, in order to make an informed decision.  

The Court expects both parties to present evidence, including documents, statements, resolutions, maps and any other evidence that can support the claims emitted by both sides.

Committies CIA ICJ OEA OPEC Security Disarmament CIES HCR