Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Catholic Social Teaching

Rights and Responsibilities

Catholic social teaching recognizes three sets of rights: the right to life
(including food and shelter), economic rights (including education and
employment), and political and cultural rights (including religious freedom).
With rights come responsibilities to others, to our families,
and to the common good of all.
Leaders Guide to Sharing Catholic Social Teaching, 2000

“Every person has a fundamental right to life and the things needed to live
– shelter, food, safety, happiness. But we also have certain responsibilities
to one another, to our families and to the larger society so that the rights
of all people are being upheld.”
One Faith, One Lord , Sadlier, 2002

We also used the Works of Mercy as a list of specific acts that a person
could follow.

Corporal Works of Mercy
Feed the hungry.
Give drink to the thirsty.
Clothe the naked.
Help the imprisoned.
Shelter the homeless.
Care for the sick.
Bury the dead.
Spiritual Works of Mercy
Share our knowledge with others.
Give advice to those who need it.
those who suffer.
Be patient with others.
Forgive those who hurt us.
Give correction to those who need it.
Pray for the living and the dead.