We are pleased to host
information on the Bemister family of
Carbonear, Newfoundland. The first member of the Bemister family
arrived in Carbonear
from Corfe Mullen Parish, Dorset UK in 1810. William Willis Bemister (1789-1863) at the age of 14, arrived as an
apprentice clerk for a local export firm, and eventually bought
business. His younger brother Edward joined him in 1812.
William Willis Bemister, married Ann Howell, who was born in 1795
family that was already established in Carbonear. Ancestral
to the rich history of Carbonear, where William and Edward
first settled, remains an important
for relatives now living in many places. Their stories and
biographies of over 200 individuals are told through the
book They Lived By The Sea
by M. Elizabeth (Hopkins) Squires, and published in 2000.
||The Bemisters of Carbonear
continue to discover their extended family, which leads to
gatherings of varying size. The first reunion
in Corfe Mullen (from where the family emigrated in
England) was held in the summer of 2004. Three
events were organized in 2003. A dinner in 2002
Vancouver followed the first
in 1999 in Carbonear, Newfoundland, where the
John and Mary Bemister initially settled. The first major
held in 1998
The family originates from Corfe Mullen near Poole in
and through the 79
grandchildren of John and Mary,
hundreds of descendants now live throughout North America,
lines gives an outline of the first three
associated with the Bemister family is a
brigs and brigantines, owned or captained by family
|George Bartlett Bemister, known as Bart, was a
brother of Emma
Bemister (1855-1933). With the opening up of Western
by the railway, he left Newfoundland and
headed west, where he found work as a surveyor.
portrait from 1915 shows the family of George
Bemister and Mary Elizabeth McPhillips of Winnipeg,
Manitoba. The couple had nine sons, and
and thus, the Bemister name became well established in
Bemister from the Dictionary of
tells of one of the more famous members of the family. Everton
House which he built
St. John's, Newfoundland in 1891, remained a family home for his
daughter Hannah and her husband, and was in family hands until
1931. It operated as a heritage inn in recent years.
A collection of over 330 family pictures, called the Rorke
Fonds was recently donated to the Centre for Newfoundland
Studies is now available on-line. It includes images of Capt.
Bemister and his father William
Check out the Bemister Blog and Bemisters
Reunite on Facebook.
could be helpful in correcting or adding to the contents of
We appreciate your comments, suggestions and additions.