History of KMFDM

From left-right: Raymond Watts, Sascha Konietzko, Gunter Schulz, En Esch
FORMED: Febuary 29, 1984
DISBANDED: January 22, 1999
KMFDM was one of Wax Trax's first industrial superstars, combining the corrosive scratching of their guitars with a hard, throbbing hip-hop derived beat. KMFDM is the acronym for "KEIN MEHRHEIT FÜR DIE MITLEID" which translated means" No Pity For The Masse."Over the years KMFDM fans, always eager to fill the 'void', came up with many possible 'meanings' some of which you find at 1001 POSSIBLE MEANINGS FOR KMFDM. KMFDM was formed by Sascha Konietzko and Udo Sturm, a german painter and Multi-Media-Preformer (what happened to him) on Febuary 29th, 1984 in Paris, France. The band later consisted of Sascha K. En Esch, Gunter Schulz, Nainz (Raymond) Watts and Tim Skold. Their 1st album was a cassette entitled "Opium," which was circulating thru underground clubs and bars, but never released, in Hamburg spreding the KMFDM virus. Thats pretty much how tey got started. KMFDM recorded their 1st full length album, and released it, in 1986 entitled "What do you know, Deutschland?" KMFDM became an underground sensation not only in America but in much of Europe; clubs became devoted to playing their style of abrasive, distorted guitar-driven dance music. KMFDM continues to be one of the major industrial bands of the '90s, with their recordings becoming even more aggressive, both musically and politically, as evidenced by releases including 1995's Nihil and Juke-Joint Jezebel as well as 1996's XTORT. A self-titled effort (a.k.a Symbols, Anger) appeared in 1997, followed a year later by Retro. Adios was released in 1999, and KMFDM disbanded January 22, 1999. KMFDM was officialy considered DEAD and MDFMK was officially born. MDFMK consists of Sascha Konietzko, Tim Skold, and Lucia Cifarelli and their 1st album was officially released March 28th 2000. MDFMK flopped and about a year later broke up. Sascha, along with others most likely, began recording new material in 2001 i believe and shortly after KMFDM was re-born. KMFDM's new line-up include long time collaborators Tim Skold, Raymond Watts, Bill Rieflin, and Dorona Alberti, as well as many guest appearences.