Sigilum Dei Aemeth


The Sigillum Aemeth is a Highly complex pentacle and it is to be done of pure wax about 27 inches in circunference.





The outer ring of the Sigil contains 40 pairs of letters and numbers. All the letters together are known as the greatest name of God.

The numbers sum to 440; Michael completed the presentation of the outer ring by displaying a number "1", surrounded by many concentric circles. Adding this 1 brings the total of the numbers presented to 441, which is the numeration of the word "Ameth", Aleph-Mem-Tav, according to Hebrew gematria.

Seven of the letters are capitalized, indicating the first letters of certain concealed angelic names. To find the names of these angels, you have to use the numbers connected with each letter. When the number is above the letter, you have to count that many letters clockwise to find the next letter of the name; when the number is below the letter, you have to count counterclockwise. Each name end when you reache one of the six letters without a number.

Thus, seven names are produce:

Thaaoth (Mars)
Galaas (Saturn)
Gethog (Jupiter)
Horlwn  (Sun)
Innon (Venus)
Aaoth (Mercury)
Galethog (Luna)

The names Thaaoth and Galaas has two consecutive letters a, they have to be turned into one single a.  When this is done, the seven names comprise forty letters, the same as the number of letters in the outer ring of the Sigil.

Of these seven names the angel Uriel said: "every letter containing an Angel of Brightness: comprehending the 7 inward powers of God, known to none but himself: a sufficient BOND to urge all creatures to life or death, or anything else contained in this world."

Only the last of these names appears overtly in the sigil, in the arcs immediately inside the outer ring. To each letter of "Galethog", a cross is append to produce a set of sigilic images:


Galaas Gethog Thaaoth Horlwn Innon Aaoth Galethog 



These sigils are placed, one to each arc, counterclockwise around the Sigil of Ameth. Of these sigils Uriel said: "Those seven letters are the 7 Seats of the One and everlasting GOD. His 7 secret Angels proceding from every letter and cross so formed: referring in substance to the FATHER: in form, to the SON: and inwardly to the HOLY GHOST."

The letters in the outermost heptagon, just inside the arcs, are derived from the names of the "Seven Angels who stand before the presence of God" listed in Agrippa's Three Books of Occult Philosophy. The names of these angels are written vertically in a seven-by-seven grid; in the final square is placed a cross, representing the Earth, thus:

The heptagon is filled by reading the rows horizontally from left to right, applying one row to each segment of the heptagon, going clockwise. 

The remaining divine and angelic names in the Sigil are all derived, by various means, from the names of the traditional planetary archangels, which are written within and around the pentagram at the center of the Sigil. 

The names of the planetary archangels are formed into a 7-by-7 tablet, by writing them diagonally from the upper left corner in standard cabalistic order beginning with the archangel of Saturn. The final "L" of each name was replaced in the tablet by numbers, usually appended to the preceding letter:

 These seven archangelic names,  represent the nine sephiroth as shown in the following table:


Zaphkiel Binah
Zadkiel Chesed
Camael Geburah
Raphael Tiphareth
Haniel Hod
Michael Netzach
Gabriel Yesod

Malkuth is represented by the sigil of AGLA on the reverse side of Sigilum Aemeth, being the name pronounced at the North/Earth angle in the Lesser Ritual of the Pentagram. 

The seven names between the outer heptagon and the heptagram are "Names of God, not known to the Angels; neither can be spoken nor read of man." They are derived from this tablet by reading the rows from left to right, and are placed in clockwise sequence around the Sigil. In the Angels' view, the derivation shown here is the reverse of the truth. Rather than the planetary angels producing these god-names, "these Names, bring forth 7 angels: the 7 Angels and Governors in the heavens next to us". Thus the Sigil, from its outer ring to its center, represents a descent of power from God into the world.

Between these God-names and the Planetary Archangels in the Sigil stand four additional ranks of beings. Even though they are outside the Archangels (and therefore presumably superior to them) it seems that they are in some way the "children" of the Archangels:

"Every letter of the Angels' names, bringeth forth 7 daughters. Every daughter bringeth forth her daughter, which is 7. Every daughter-her-daughter bringeth forth a son. Every son in himself, is 7. Every son has his son, and his son is 7."

The names in these groups are derived from the tablet by taking the letters diagonally as shown in the diagrams below.










Green -- The Daughters of Light
Gold -- The Sons of Light
Red -- The Daughters of the Daughters
Blue -- The Sons of the Sons


Finally, the names of the seven planetary archangels are placed inside the innermost heptagon. The angel of Saturn, Sabathiel, surrounds the pentagram; the angel of Luna, Levanael, is wholly inside the central pentagon, surrounding the cross of Earth. The remaining names are applied to the pentagram in cabalistic order, beginning with the angel of Jupiter, Zedekiel, at the top point and going clockwise.